Skip to Main Content

Mitchell Gallery

The Elizabeth Myers Mitchell Gallery, located on the campus of St. John’s College, is a treasure in historic Annapolis. Accredited by the American Alliance of Museums in 2012 and dedicated to bringing art of world renown to Annapolis since it opened in 1989, attracts over 10,000 visitors a year to its museum-quality exhibits which range in theme and diversity for a gallery of its size.

About the Mitchell Gallery

Exhibitions have included works of celebrated artists such as Bruegel, Calder, Rembrandt, Rodin, Motherwell and Johns, exhibitions of unique historical and regional interest, such as photography by A. Aubrey Bodine and Marion Warren and The National Craft Show.

The Mitchell Gallery serves the community of St. John’s and the wider communities of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County as a resource for viewing, discussing, and learning about fine art. The gallery’s modern design by architect Chip Bohl won a Citation of Merit from the American Institute of Architects.

Call 410-626-2556 for more information, docent tours, programs, and special events.

Gallery Hours and Admission

Free admission

Open noon to 5 p.m., Tuesday through Sunday, and from 6:45 to 7:45 p.m. Friday.

Closed on Monday.

Funding and Support

Funding and support for these exhibitions are provided in part by Anne Arundel County, the Arts Council of Anne Arundel County, the City of Annapolis, The Helena Foundation, the Maryland State Arts Council, the Estate of Elizabeth Myers Mitchell, Mitchell Gallery Board of Advisors, Members of the Mitchell Gallery, the Mitchell Gallery Endowment, Mitchell Gallery Next Generation Committee, Mrs. Ruth Mitchell, the John and Hilda Moore Fund, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Lillian Vanous Nutt Mitchell Gallery Endowment, and the Clare Eddy and Eugene V. Thaw Fine Arts Fund.

Thanks to the support of our members, gallery admission and regular programs are free and open to the public. View our 2015-2016 Mitchell Gallery Donor Board.

American Alliance of Museums



  • Hydee Schaller, director
  • Lucinda Edinberg, art educator
  • Alexandra Fotos, membership coordinator

Board of Advisors

  • Melvin Bender
  • LeCates S. Blyth
  • Cathy Biern Byerly
  • James W. Cheevers
  • Tara Balfe Clifford
  • Ruth Anderson Coggeshall
  • Deborah B. Coons
  • Amelia Crain
  • Thomas R. Dawson
  • Keren Davison Dement
  • Myrna L. Fawcett
  • Janet Gellici
  • Anna E. Greenberg
  • Elizabeth W. Grimaldis
  • David Hoffberger
  • Jean Brinton Jaecks
  • Carolyn P. Kammeier
  • Marilyn Lyons
  • Nadja Maril
  • Pamela McKee
  • Laurie Nolan
  • Casey Pingle, Chairman
  • Laura T. Ricciardelli
  • Laurie Salladin
  • Lynn Schwartz
  • Eric Smith
  • Rockford Toews
  • Karen Tobin
  • Melissa Yanowitz