Back to Blog Posts

Graduate Institute Commencement

Originally Posted on admin, August 15, 2008

News & Publications

Santa Fe 
Graduate Institute Commencement to be held Friday, August 15, 2008


WHAT: Commencement Exercises awarding degrees of Master of Arts in Eastern Classics and Master of Arts in Liberal Arts

WHEN: Friday, August 15, 2008 at 10 a.m. (Graduates will gather at 9 a.m. on the Koi Pond steps for pictures)

WHERE: Meem Library Placita, St. John’s College

Forty St. John’s College graduate students – 22 Master of Arts in Eastern Classics candidates and 18 Master of Arts in Liberal Arts candidates – will receive their diplomas at the college’s forty-second commencement ceremony at 10 a.m. on Friday, August 15, 2008. Tutor James Carey will give this year’s commencement address, entitled “­­­­­­­­­­­­Freedom, Letters, and Leisure.”

The Eastern Classics Program at St. John’s College offers the structured reading of literary, philosophical, and theological texts of India, China, and Japan. Students earn a Master of Arts in Eastern Classics (MAEC) in three consecutive semesters of study (fall, spring, and summer). Works studied include the Rig Veda, a collection of sacred Hindu hymns; the Upanishads, Hindu religious and philosophical literature; the Analects of Confucius; and the Tao Teh Ching. Students also learn enough Sanskrit or Chinese to read passages in their original language.

Graduate students in the Liberal Arts program explore the persisting questions of human existence by studying classic works of the Western tradition, following a course of study based on the undergraduate curriculum of St. John’s organized into semester-long thematic segments: Philosophy and Theology, Politics and Society, Literature, Mathematics and Natural Science, and History. Students complete four of five segments during the fall, spring or summer terms.

Master of Arts in Eastern Classics awarded in August 2008 to:
Michael  Anthony Adams, Jr. (Richmond, Virginia)
April Billson (London, United Kingdom)
Jesse Eugene Carliner (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)
Pauline Antonette Cashion (San Antonio, Texas)
Nicholas Ethan Collins (Anchorage, Alaska)
Daniel Jon Normand Dube (Augusta, Maine)
Alistair John Hake (Elessmere Port, United Kingdom)
Michael David Johnson (Concord, Massachusetts)
Craig Paul Johnston (Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom)
Michael David Lewis (Gaston, Oregon)
Brian Nelson Little (Ramsey, New Jersey)
Peter  Edward Marshall (St. Cloud, Minnesota)
Charles Laurence Olivea (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
Reid Guyton Pierce (Pine Bluff, Arkansas)
Gabriel Joseph Roybal (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
Joyce Ciccarelli Spray (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
Karen Marie Starz (Seattle, Washington)
David Joseph Straub (Fallbrook, California)
Jennifer Ann Tackett (Austin, Texas)
Elizabeth Rose Van Valkenburgh (Anchorage, Alaska)
Philip James Walsh (Newark, Delaware)
Claudia Lynn Watson (Damariscotta, Maine)

Master of Arts in Liberal Arts awarded in August 2008 to:
Kay Frances Bauer (Colville, Washington)
Ann Lynne Buchanan (Parksville, British Columbia, Canada)
Jaimi Dianne Butler (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)
Pamela Stone Carter (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
Christopher Edward Daradics (Eugene, Oregon)
Alexander Logan Fields (Fargo, North Dakota)              
David Winn Hailey (Georgetown, Texas)
Josva Timothy Halseide (Fort Collins, Colorado)
Dina Susan Jansen (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
Douglas Reiter Kendall (Holderness, New Hampshire  )
Jonathan Lynn  LeBlanc (Lafayette, Louisiana)
Dennis Ray Maust (Dallas, Texas)
Thomas Raymond Melgun (Woodland Hills, California)
Alexandria Marie Moler (Dayton, Ohio)
Roy Mark Rogosin (Tesuque, New Mexico)
Gregory Donald Shubert (Fort Collins, Colorado)
Brandon Anthony Shuman (Midland, Texas)
Carter Franklin Young (Atlanta, Georgia)