Johnnie Family Weekend

October 23–25, 2020

Join us virtually for Johnnie Family Weekend, October 23–25. This is your best opportunity to get a taste of the life and work in which your Johnnie is engaged. Through online panels and virtual conversations with various staff and faculty—including a special seminar for family and friends—you will get a sense of the vitality and richness of the St. John’s experience. We hope you can join us.

 

Registration is now closed.

Annapolis Students Downtown 2019

Schedule for October 23–25

Main Registration is required to participate in Johnnie Family Weekend.

All sessions will be held on Zoom. Zoom links listed below will also be emailed in advance of the sessions. This schedule is subject to change.

Friday, October 23

Parent Welcome Panel

5 p.m. ET/3 p.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 829 1981 7727
Passcode: 102234

This is our kick-off event for Johnnie Family Weekend! Join us for a special virtual welcome hosted by Richard Lincer, our St. John’s College board member and a past parent.

Santa Fe Dean’s Lecture

6:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 955 0574 4417

“The Grammar of Eden: A Reading of Genesis 1—3”
Speaker: Tutor Erika Martinez, St. John’s College Santa Fe
This special Friday night lecture is part of the Santa Fe Dean’s Lecture and Concert Series.

Saturday, October 24

Presidents and Deans Panel: Challenges and Opportunities of Moving Online

11 a.m. ET/9 a.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 824 3620 2583
Passcode: 648756

Join us for a live panel with Presidents Mark Roosevelt and Pano Kanelos and Deans Macfarland and Sterling on lessons learned so far during the online fall semester. Q&A session to follow.

Afternoon Seminar on William Wordsworth’s Tintern Abbey

1 p.m. ET/11 a.m. MT
*Live event; registration required

A copy of Tintern Abbey is available online.
Registered participants for Wordsworth’s Tintern Abbey will receive a separate communication regarding their seminar log-in, assigned tutor, and other details prior to the weekend.

Continuing Education Presentation

3 p.m. ET/1 p.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 822 0425 5108
Passcode: 065197

Learn about continuing education offerings at St. John’s College. Panelists will discuss the Graduate Institute, Summer Classics, and community programming.

Meditation Class

5 p.m. ET/3 p.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 860 1761 3617
Passcode: 480723

An introduction to meditation techniques hosted by Student Support Coordinator Nanette Phillips, a certified yoga and mindfulness instructor.

Johnnie Dinner, Wine, and a Movie/Music Night

*See a list of recipes, Johnnie wines, and Johnnie-centric films and music

Make it a Johnnie dinner, wine, and a movie/music night! Download a list of our favorite recipes from Santa Fe and Annapolis, and try preparing them at home. Relax with a Johnnie-centric film or music, either made by or selected for Johnnies. And learn about Johnnie alumni who have gone on to become winemakers!

Sunday, October 25

Morning Yoga Class

*Prerecorded event

Move, breathe, and stretch. Join Santa Fe yogi Annie Mullins as she takes you through two beginner’s yoga sessions on the grassy knoll of St. John’s College, Santa Fe. Two classes are available, a shorter practice of 10 minutes and a longer session of 40 minutes.

Yoga with Annie: A Short Yoga Flow
Yoga with Annie: Flow on the Grassy Knoll

Annapolis Career Services Panel

1:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 881 2553 3199
Passcode: 629228

Learn how the Career Services Office is your partner in preparing your Johnnie for life after graduation. Jobs? Internships? Finding a direction? They can help with it all. And it’s never too early to start.

Santa Fe Office of Personal and Professional Development (OPPD) Panel

1:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. MT
*Live Event
Webinar ID: 848 6460 2983
Passcode: 086290

Learn how the Office of Personal and Professional Development (OPPD) is your partner in preparing your Johnnie for life after graduation. Jobs? Internships? Finding a direction? They can help with it all. And it’s never too early to start.

Farewell Panel with the Assistant Deans and Executive Directors of Campus Health & Wellness

3 p.m. ET/1 p.m. MT
*Live event
Webinar ID: 867 2013 8512
Passcode: 540580

Join us for our last panel of the weekend—an informational panel with our Annapolis and Santa Fe assistant deans, along with our executive directors of campus health & wellness.

St Johns College Convocation Annapolis 2015

Resources for Registered Participants

All panels and seminars will be taking place using the Zoom platform, so please download Zoom prior to joining Johnnie Family Weekend to ensure a smooth experience.

If you are registered for the Saturday, October 24 seminar on Wordsworth’s Tintern Abbey, you are invited to read this introduction to the seminar method: Learning Through Conversation.

Online St. John’s College seminars are in their essence conducted in the same format as an in-person seminar, so please know that although we acknowledge that this document speaks to the in-person format, it is still useful for an online seminar.

The Zoom Guide for Participants contains some technical instructions as well as helpful hints for participating in our St. John’s College panels and seminars hosted on the Zoom platform.

For questions, please contact familyweekend(at)sjc.edu.

Make it a Johnnie Night!

Some suggestions for creating a Johnnie night to celebrate your Johnnie.

How to Use Zoom

Helpful tips for joining our live panels, seminars, and prerecorded events.

Learning through Conversation at St. John's College

If you have not participated in classroom events at St. John’s, or even if you have, a few words of introduction may be helpful.