Back to Blog Posts

8 Facts SJC Alumni Should Know

Posted by Susan Jenkins on June 12, 2014

St. John’s College hosted the fifth annual Alumni Leadership Forum (ALF) in Annapolis on June 6-8. Stephen "Sunny" Hills (SF78), who is one of the 10 ALFie recipients honored for his Leadership and Volunteerism in the Alumni Association, wrote about his experience and what he learned during ALF. 

Here are eight facts gleaned from what he wrote:

1. "Alumni really do matter."

2. “Every one of us, anyone who has ever attended a single semester at St. John's is now an Alumni Member.”

3. There are “many ways of giving” to SJC—not just financial contributions but "sharing your time, energy, thoughts, etc.”

4. Creating new chapters is an easier process: “No more chapter 'applications for approval' to be submitted.”

5. The Class of 2014 in both Annapolis and Santa Fe broke giving records for Senior Legacy gifts this year. Click here to read more.

6. The sixth annual Alumni Leadership Forum (ALF) will be in Santa Fe in June 2015.

7. "The entire first day of ALF is dedicated to giving us free classroom experiences.”

8. "The entire conference, including meals was free of charge.” Accommodations in the campus dorms were available for an inexpensive daily rate. 

Ten alumni were awarded "ALFies" for Leadership and Volunteerism in the Alumni Association:

  • Chris Denny
  • Stephen "Sunny" Hills
  • Michael Schneider
  • Michael Sullivan
  • Gloria McGillen
  • Tia Pausic
  • Marin Skokandic
  • Clarke Saylor
  • Jack Armstrong
  • Josh Rogers

The next opportunity to connect with other SJC alumni is during Homecoming in September. Register early to receive a discount! Click below for more details:

To find out more about SJC alumni programs, e-mail Sarah Palacios (Santa Fe) or Leo Pickens (Annapolis).

facebook_logo.jpg  Twitter_logo_blue.png See more photos from ALF and connect with other SJC alumni on Facebook and Twitter.


2014 ALFie award winners (left to right): Marin Skokandic, Tia Pausic, Michael Schneider, and Michael Sullivan.


ALFie winners (left to right): Chris Denny, Gloria McGillen, Sunny Hills, and Linda Stabler-Talty, who was recognized for her completion of her term of service on the association's board of directors. Winners not pictured are Clarke Saylor, Jack Armstrong, and Josh Rogers.