Alumni Week 2022

Monday, June 6 through Saturday, June 11, 2022

Join classmates and members of the college community for St. John’s third annual Alumni Week—a weeklong series of alumni-focused activities offered accessibly online.

Bringing together both the Annapolis and Santa Fe campuses, Alumni Week 2022 provides a variety of live and pre-recorded programming, including more of what you told us made last year so special. That means MORE demonstrations, MORE discussions, and, of course, MORE Great Books to renew our Johnnie spirits!

Celebrate your lifelong connection to St. John’s and experience what it means to be part of our Johnnie community by joining us this spring.

Santa Fe Freshman Orientation Finding Meno Fall 2019

Schedule of Events

Monday, June 6 through Saturday, June 11, 2022

Monday, June 6

  • Welcome
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.
  • Alumni Association Awards
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.
  • An Evening of Conversation with new Annapolis President Nora Demleitner
    Live event. Registration required.

    7 p.m. ET/ 6 p.m. CT/ 5 p.m. MT/ 4 p.m. PT

    Alumni Week begins with a compelling discussion with new Annapolis president Nora Demleitner. Tune in to hear about our community’s “turning points,” looking back to where we came from, and forward to where we are going. Remember to bring your questions! We’ll also kick off the week by celebrating remarkable Johnnies with interviews with our 2022 Alumni Association Awards honorees.

See Monday Events

Tuesday, June 7

  • Beyond the Classroom: The Mystery of Gollum
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.

    To readers of The Lord of the Rings, Gollum is a most interesting character: complex, tormented, loving and hating simultaneously, perhaps the greatest villain of the story, perhaps also its most tragic hero. Without him, the book would be bland and monochrome. Who is Gollum? Why is he so central to the novel? Join tutors Krishnan Venkatesh and Richard McCombs to dive deeper into the intricate world of J. R. R. Tolkien.

See Tuesday Events

Wednesday, June 8

  • JohnnieTalks
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.

    Tune in to hear four innovative alumni share flash talk insights on turning points—what they mean, how they live them with them, and how they’ve changed everything.

See Wednesday Events

Thursday, June 9

  • Beyond the Classroom: Living the Program
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.

    Tutors are the pillars in our St. John’s community, but what does it really look like to live the Program? Tune in for a sneak peek into the lives of beloved tutors beyond the classroom to hear their wisdom on balance, integration, and following passion on the road, at home, and everywhere in between.

See Thursday Events

Friday, June 10

  • Things you may have missed...
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.

    Did you know the college has a number of digital discussions, lectures, podcasts, demonstrations, and more available to alumni (whenever your mind or nostalgia may desire)? Discover (or rediscover) some of our favorite content featuring alumni and faculty!

Not getting content from the college? Join the Annapolis or Santa Fe mailing list to be notified when new content is available!

See Friday Events

Saturday, June 11

  • In Memoriam
    Pre-recorded event. No registration required.
  • Seminar
    Live event. Registration and payment required.
    12 p.m. ET/ 11 a.m. CT/ 10 a.m. MT/ 9 a.m. PT
  • Toasts and Tributes with the Alumni Association Board
    Live event. Registration required.
    2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ 12 p.m. MT/ 11 a.m. PT

    Commemorate our week together at seminar with classmates and tutors, followed by a celebratory toast hosted by the Alumni Association Board.

See Saturday Events

Note: seminars with fewer than five participants are subject to cancellation. If a seminar is canceled due to low attendance, registrants may choose to transfer to an open seminar or request a refund. Alumni Week programming subject to change.

Santa Fe Freshman Orientation Finding Meno Fall 2019

Registration and Pricing

Registration is now closed 

Registration open April 29–June 3, 2022. 

Live Events must be registered for in advance in order to provide login credentials on the dates of programming. 

Prerecorded Activities will be posted on this page on the date of their occurrence and are open to all participants. To receive links to prerecorded content via email, registration is recommended.

Pricing 

Payment, along with registration, is required for participation in virtual seminars only. 

Price for seminar: $50  

Cancellation Policy

Due to the limited availability of virtual seminars, spaces are nontransferable and nonrefundable.

Alumni Association Honorees 2022

Alumni Association honorees are selected annually by the board in recognition for their pursuit of and successes in leading examined lives of virtue, as well as their steadfast commitment to the St. John’s College community. Following are recipients of the Award of Merit and Honorary Alumni designations to be commemorated during Alumni Week 2022.

Give in Honor of Your Class

Reunion Giving focuses on the power of collective giving. Each year more reunion celebrants give back, increasing the impact of a long legacy of Johnnies on the future of St. John’s College.

Support a Class Endowment Fund

Designate your gift to a specific Class Endowment Fund. The endowment provides St. John’s with a steady, dependable, and enduring stream of revenue. When it comes to ensuring our future, it doesn’t get more important than this.

Volunteer as an Alumni Class Chair

The Alumni Class Chair Program seeks to deepen the relationship between alumni and the college by increasing engagement through class liaisons. Through this meaningful program, volunteers prepare their classes for reunion while increasing awareness for the importance of giving.

2021 Alumni Week Highlights

Videos of demonstrations, interviews, JohnnieTalks, and more from Alumni Week 2021.