Online Seminars - Summer Classics 2021

Choose Your Seminar:
Great Discussions on Great Books

The St. John’s Summer Classics program offers an incomparable experience grounded in timeless ideas and driven by lively conversation. That conversation awaits your voice.

Choose one or multiple seminars for an intellectual retreat. Seminars run Monday through Friday. A week-long seminar includes a morning series of classes or an afternoon series of classes. Some of our online programs offer a 4 p.m. MT/6 p.m. ET evening option if the earlier times do not accommodate your schedule.

Available July 5–9, July 12–16, July 19–23, and July 26–30

Online Seminars

Aristotle on Friendship
July 5–9, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Basic Buddhism
July 5–9, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

The Detective Stories of Edgar Allan Poe and Arthur Conan Doyle
July 5–9, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Introduction to the Fictional Worlds of Italo Calvino
July 5–9, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Philip Roth: American Pastoral and Patrimony
July 5–9, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Science Institute: Are Imaginary Numbers Real?
July 5–16 (two weeks), 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Louise Glück’s A Village Life
July 5–9, 1–3 p.m. MT | 3–5 p.m. ET, Online

Nietzsche’s Genealogy of Morals
July 5–9, 1–3 p.m. MT | 3–5 p.m. ET, Online

W. E. B. Du Bois’s The Souls of Black Folk
July 5–9, 4–6 p.m. MT | 6–8 p.m. ET, Online

Lincoln
July 12–16, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Socrates on Trial
July 12–16, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Sophocles: Theban Plays
July 12–16, 1–3 p.m. MT | 3–5 p.m. ET, Online

Schelling’s Philosophical Investigations into the Essence of Human Freedom
July 19–23, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

General Relativity: A Trip to the Fourth Dimension
July 19–30 (two weeks), 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Kierkegaard’s Fear and Trembling
July 19–23, 1–3 p.m. MT | 3–5 p.m. ET, Online

American Poems
July 19–23, 4–6 p.m. MT | 6–8 p.m. ET, Online

Cervantes’s Don Quixote
July 26–30, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Dostoyevsky’s Demons
July 26–30, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Robert Frank: The Americans—A Nation Seen through the Eyes of Photography
July 26–30, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Love and Suffering with St. John of the Cross
July 26–30, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

On Walking and Thinking: Wordsworth and Rousseau
July 26–30, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Plato’s Gorgias
July 26–30, 10 a.m.–12 p.m. MT | 12–2 p.m. ET, Online

Two Classic Native American Novels: Welch & Erdrich
July 26–30, 1–3 p.m. MT | 3–5 p.m. ET, Online

James Baldwin’s Another Country
July 26–30, 4–6 p.m. MT | 6–8 p.m. ET, Online