Santa Fe Academic Calendar

For the latest schedule, read the weekly Ephemera, access your @sjc.edu mailbox, check your voicemail notices, and check this page.

Calendar Contents

2020 Fall Semester

2021 Spring Semester

2021 Summer Term

2020 Fall Semester

August 2020

Tuesday, August 11

  • DEADLINE: Completion of Financial Aid/Loan file for FALL 2020 term.
    Failure to meet these deadlines triggers withdrawal from financial aid funding and enrollment rosters for Fall 20.

Wednesday, August 12

  • Online UG and GI registration is initiated and remains active until first day of class.

Friday, August 14

  • DEADLINE: Student Accounts for FALL 2020 must be paid in full or payment plans arranged and verified with Treasurer’s Office.

Monday, August 24

  • Separate New Student Orientation schedule from the Office of Student Life provides full list of New Student and New Student Parent activities and meetings.

  • New Student and Family Orientation Day 1

Tuesday, August 25

  • New Student and Family Orientation Day 2

Wednesday, August 26

  • New Student and Family Orientation Day 3

  • Afternoon, Tutors’ Meetings [as scheduled by Dean’s Office]

Thursday, August 27

  • New Student and Family Orientation Day 4

  • 10:30–11:30 a.m. MT, Online Convocation for new students and first-term Graduate Institute students

  • 1 p.m., Faculty Meeting (virtual, by invitation)

  • 4:30, 6, and 7:30 p.m., First meeting of ALL undergraduate seminars

  • 7:30 p.m., Meno seminar for new Graduate Institute students

  • Student account must be paid in full or payment plan must be established. Students are responsible for their balance after all
    Financial Aid is applied.

Friday, August 28

  • New Student and Family Orientation Day 5

  • Free Day—no classes

  • 9 a.m.–5 p.m., Tutors’ Meetings [as scheduled by Dean’s Office]

  • 4 p.m., New GI Student Orientation

  • 7:30 pm, Dean’s Opening Lecture (virtual)

Saturday, August 29

  • 9 a.m.–4 p.m., New Student Orientation Continues

Monday, August 31

  • Graduate Institute classes begin

  • All Undergraduate tutorials and seminars meet as scheduled

  • Continuing GI student registration

Back to top ↑

September 2020

Monday, September 7

  • Administrative offices and Bookstore closed for Labor Day

Wednesday, September 16

  • Priority Filing Date: Spring 2020 New Graduate Institute Liberal Art student financial aid applications [studentaid.gov/fafsa]

Monday, September 21–Saturday, September 26

  • Alumni Week
    Homecoming activities in an online format

Wednesday, September 23

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting (virtual, by invitation)

Friday, September 25

  • Due date for all library items checked out during the Spring 2020 semester

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting

Monday, September 28

  • Graduate Institute Conferences begin for new GI Liberal Arts students

Wednesday, September 30

  • 1:30–3:30 p.m., All-College Seminar. Undergraduate tutorials cancelled.

Back to top ↑

October 2020

Thursday, October 1

  • ONLINE Financial Aid Application Availability
    Financial aid FAFSA and PROFILE/CSS applications for 2021–22 academic year

  • ONLINE Financial Aid Applications Priority Filing Due Date
    Graduate Institute student financial aid FAFSA and PROFILE/CSS applications for SUMMER 2021 Session

  • FAFSA: studentaid.gov/fafsa | CSS: cssprofile.collegeboard.org

Monday, October 5

  • GI Eastern Classic conferences begin

Monday, October 12

  • Seminar oral exams begin for GILA students

Wednesday, October 14

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting (virtual, by invitation)

Friday, October 16–Monday, October 19

  • LONG WEEKEND—Undergraduate tutorials do not meet October 16 and 19

  • All seminars and GI classes meet as usual on Monday, October 19

Friday, October 23–Sunday, October 25

  • Johnnie Family Weekend
    Parents, family, and friends are invited to attend a virtual weekend of online panels, seminars, and more.

Monday, October 26

  • 12 p.m., Junior and Senior seminar essays due

  • Preceptorials begin for Juniors, Seniors, and GI Liberal Arts students.

Tuesday, October 27

  • GI Eastern Classics students begin second preceptorials.

Wednesday, October 28

  • Junior and Senior seminar oral period begins

Back to top ↑

November 2020

Monday, November 2

  • Freshman seminar essays due by noon

Thursday, November 5–Saturday, November 7

  • Board Meeting, Annapolis

Wednesday, November 4—Tuesday, November 17

  • Freshman seminar oral examinations begin

Monday, November 9

  • Sophomore seminar essays due by noon

Wednesday, November 11

  • DEADLINE: Registration forms for UG and GI due for Spring 2021
    This reserves a place in undergraduate classes and housing for Spring 2021

  • Freshman Don Rags may begin

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting (virtual, by invitation)

Monday, November 16

  • GI Eastern Classics Seminar papers due

Monday, November 23–Tuesday, November 24

  • Freshman Don Rags Days

  • All undergraduate classes in session unless the tutor is sitting in Freshman Don Rags

Wednesday, November 25–Sunday, November 29

  • THANKSGIVING BREAK – no classes

  • Dining Hall and all residence halls remain open

Monday, November 30

  • Classes resume as regularly scheduled- tutorials and seminar for UNDGs and GIs

Monday, November 30–Wednesday, December 2

  • Freshman Don Rags continue (Monday–Wednesday, among interstices of classes)

Back to top ↑

December 2020

Tuesday, December 1

  • DEADLINE: Completion of Financial Aid/Loan file for Spring 2021 term

  • DEADLINE: Student Account for Spring 2021 must be paid in full or payment plans arranged and verified with Treasurer’s Office
    From January Freshmen, re-admitted students, and new Graduate Institute students

Wednesday, December 9

  • Graduate Institute Satisfactory Grade Check for L4s

Thursday, December 10–Friday, December 11

  • Sophomore and Junior Don Rags may be scheduled during class intervals

Monday, December 14–Thursday, December 17

  • Sophomore and Junior Don Rag Period
    All undergraduate tutorials are in session, unless the tutor indicates otherwise; seminars meet as regularly scheduled.

Wednesday, December 16

  • 6 p.m., GI Graduate Reception for Graduating Students, Location TBD

Thursday, December 17

  • Last day of term. Classes end with seminar or preceptorial as scheduled or as arranged by tutor.

  • Due date for books checked out to students residing on campus during Fall 2020 semester.

Friday, December 18–Sunday, January 17

  • Winter Break

Wednesday, December 23

  • Packages of books shipped back to the library by students residing off campus must be postmarked by Dec. 23

Back to top ↑

2021 Spring Semester

January 2021

Wednesday, January 6

  • Undergraduate Fall 2020 grades due (except for preceptorials)

Friday, January 8

  • Submission date of January Freshman missing or incomplete work from Summer 2020 unless earlier date stipulated by tutor

Monday, January 11

  • Undergraduate preceptorial grades due

  • ALL Fall 2020 Graduate Institute grades and comment sheets due (EC and LA)

Friday, January 15

  • January Freshmen arrive [see New Student Orientation Schedule for all activities and meetings]

  • 1–4 p.m., Registration: January Freshmen, Readmitted Students, Weigle Hall

  • 1–4 p.m., Registration: New and Continuing GRADUATE Institute Students, Levan Hall

  • 9 a.m., All residence halls and suites open

  • 3:45 p.m., Meno seminar for new GI students, followed by reception, Levan Hall

Saturday, January 16

  • Dining Hall opens with breakfast

  • 9 a.m.–4 p.m., New Student Orientation Activities

Monday, January 18

  • Tutorials meet as regularly scheduled except for JFs and SRs. All Seminars meet.

  • 1–5 p.m., Registration for Continuing GI Students

  • Graduate Institute regularly scheduled classes begin

  • 3 p.m., New Student Orientation (GI), Darkey Common Room

  • 5 p.m., Global Pathways Application Due to Personal & Professional Development

  • 6:15 p.m., Convocation for January Freshmen and first-term graduate students, Great Hall

  • 7:30 p.m., First Seminar for January Freshman

Monday, January 1–Friday, February 12

  • Senior Writing Period

Wednesday, January 20

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting, Junior Common Room

Saturday, January 23

  • Last day to change Meal Plan, Treasurer’s Office

Back to top ↑

February

Relocating to Annapolis?

  • Transfer Application form and $500 Advance Deposit by Monday, February 17

  • FAFSA and CSS (if applicable) submitted by March 1 deadline

Saturday, February 6

  • 2:30 p.m., Algebra Test, Dining Hall
    Required of all sophomores who have not yet passed; Freshmen are obliged to attempt the test once by the end of freshman year.

Friday, February 12

  • FREE FRIDAY—tutorials cancelled

Saturday, February 13

  • 7–9 p.m., Dean’s and President’s Essay Reception for Seniors, Hunt House

  • 9 p.m., Senior essays due

Monday, February 15

  • All Senior tutorials and seminars resume

  • Senior Essay Committee Members Claim Essays, Registrar’s Office

  • GI Conferences begin for new GI Liberal Arts students

Monday, February 22

  • Senior Essay Chairpersons deliver first-pass evaluation to the Registrar’s Office

  • DEADLINE: Undergraduate InterCampus Transfer forms and $500 deposits due at the Office of the Registrar. No exceptions.

  • For Transfer Applicants: The MARCH 1 Financial Aid date is the next all-important deadline in this process.

  • 5 p.m., Ariel Application due to Personal & Professional Development

Wednesday, February 24

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting

Thursday, February 25–Saturday, February 27

  • Board Meeting, Santa Fe

Saturday, February 27

  • 2:30 p.m., Algebra Test, Dining Hall
    Required of all sophomores who have not yet passed; Freshmen are obliged to attempt the test once by the end of freshman year.

Sunday, February 28

  • ONLINE Financial Aid Applications Priority Filing Due Date
    Undergraduate financial aid FAFSA and PROFILE/CSS applications for 2021–22 academic year

  • ONLINE Financial Aid Applications Priority Filing Due Date
    Graduate Institute student financial aid FAFSA and PROFILE/CSS applications for SUMMER 2021 Session

  • FAFSA: studentaid.gov/fafsa | CSS: cssprofile.collegeboard.org

Back to top ↑

March 2020

Monday, March 1

  • Senior essay oral examinations begin, Ault-Evers Room, Meem Library

  • GI Liberal Arts seminar oral examinations begin

Wednesday, March 3

  • 1:30–3:30 p.m., Faculty Seminar Day (special events as scheduled); undergraduate tutorials cancelled

  • All GI classes meet as scheduled

Monday, March 8–Friday, March 12

  • January Freshman Don Rags scheduled during class intervals

Wednesday, March 10

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting

Saturday, March 13

  • Food service ends with breakfast

  • All residence halls and suites close at noon

Saturday, March 13–Sunday, March 28

  • SPRING BREAK for all students; Administrative offices closed one day during Spring Break

Wednesday, March 17

  • Encouraged Filing Date: Summer 2021 new Graduate Institute Liberal Arts student financial aid applications [studentaid.gov/fafsa]

Monday, March 22

  • Submission date for missing work that led to incomplete grade for Fall 2019 unless tutor stipulated an earlier date

Saturday, March 27

  • 12 p.m., All residence halls and suites open

Sunday, March 28

  • 10–11:30 a.m., Food Service begins with brunch

Monday, March 29

  • All tutorials and seminars resume

  • GILA preceptorials begin and continue through Thursday, May 20

  • Grade-changing DEADLINE for Fall 2020 grades

  • 5 p.m., General Pathways Application due to Personal & Professional Development

Tuesday, March 30

  • GIEC students begin fourth preceptorials

  • DEADLINE: GI Summer housing contracts due

Tuesday, March 30–Monday, April 5

  • Sophomore tutorials canceled for essay writing period; classes resume at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, April 6.

Back to top ↑

April

Monday, April 5

  • 12 p.m., Sophomore Enabling Essays due by noon or as otherwise announced by seminar tutors

  • DEADLINE: Undergraduate Advance Deposits for Fall 2021 for continuing students, Treasurer’s Office
    Deposit holds a place in Fall class roster and allows participation in drawing for on-campus housing.

Monday, April 12

  • Deadline: 2021–22 Housing Plans Forms due to Office of Student Life

Wednesday, April 7–Wednesday, April 28

  • Sophomore seminar orals begin

Wednesday, April 14

  • 3:15 p.m., Faculty Meeting

Thursday, April 15

  • All Student Accounts for Spring 2021 must be paid in full

  • Priority Filing Date: New GILA/GIEC students’ financial aid applications for Fall 2021 term [online FAFSA form]

  • DEADLINE: Completion of Financial Aid/Loan file for the Summer 2021 term

Thursday, April 15–Monday, April 19

  • EC seminar essays due

  • Freshmen and Junior Writing Period; no Freshmen and Junior tutorials through the morning of April 19. January Freshmen classes proceed as scheduled.

Monday, April 19

  • Freshmen, Junior, and January Freshmen essays due by noon; no morning FF and JR tutorials.

  • January Freshmen classes proceed as scheduled

Wednesday, April 21–Friday, April 30

  • January Freshmen seminar orals

Wednesday, April 21–Monday, May 3

  • Freshman and Junior seminar orals

Monday, April 26–Wednesday, April 28

  • Housing Lottery Room Selection in the Office of Student Life

Thursday, April 2–Friday, April 30

  • Sophomore Enabling DON RAG DAYS

  • All UNDG tutorials—except for SO tutorials—are in session, unless the tutor indicates otherwise; seminars meet.

Back to top ↑

May 2021

Saturday, May 1

  • 2:30 p.m., Algebra Test, Dining Hall
    Fall and January Freshmen are obliged to attempt the test once by the end of freshman year.

Monday, May 3–Wednesday, May 5

  • Sophomore Enabling Don Rags scheduled during class intervals

Monday, May 3

  • Satisfactory grades’ check due from senior year and graduate level tutors for undergraduate and graduate degree candidates, Office of the Registrar

Wednesday, May 12

  • 12:10 p.m., Sophomore Enabling Faculty Meeting, Junior Common Room

Friday, May 14–Sunday, May 16

  • Reality Weekend

Saturday, May 15

  • 9 a.m., Final faculty meeting: Awarding of degrees

Monday, May 17–Thursday, May 20

  • Freshman Don Rags and Junior Conference Period
    All undergraduate tutorials are in session unless the tutor indicates otherwise. Seminars meet as regularly scheduled.

  • Library Call-In Week

Tuesday, May 18

  • 6 p.m., GI Graduate Reception for graduating students, Location TBA

Wednesday, May 19

  • Senior Dinner, Great Hall

Thursday, May 20

  • Last day of spring term: Undergraduate Spring term ends with seminars

  • Last day of graduate classes

  • All library materials due by 10 p.m.

Friday, May 21

  • Commencement related activities [Family activities begin on Friday midday]

Friday, May 21–Sunday, May 30

  • Early Summer Break for January Freshmen

Saturday, May 22

  • 10:30 a.m., Class of 2021 Commencement, Weigle Placita

Sunday, May 23

  • Food service ends with breakfast

  • 12 p.m., All residence halls, suites, and apartments close. All areas must be vacated.

Monday, May 24

  • 10 a.m., Seminar Reading List Review Faculty Meeting, Senior Common Room

Friday, May 28

  • Undergraduate Spring 2020 grades due

  • ALL Spring 2020 GI grades and comment sheets due (LA and EC)

Back to top ↑

2021 Summer Term

Saturday, May 29

  • 9 a.m., Residence Halls open for January Freshmen

  • Food service for January Freshmen begins with dinner

Monday, May 31

  • January Freshman second term begins with tutorials and seminars, as scheduled

  • 9–11 a.m. & 1–3 p.m., REGISTRATION: January Freshmen, during class intervals. Summer Enrollment is jeopardized if Financial Aid/Loan file or Student Account is incomplete.
    Failure to meet these registration requirements triggers withdrawal from financial aid funding and enrollment rosters.

Monday, May 31

  • Administrative offices closed for Memorial Day

  • Assistant Dean’s Office open

Back to top ↑

June 2021

Friday, June 11

  • 9–10 a.m., GI New Student Registration

Saturday, June 12

  • 12 p.m., Dormitories open for GI students

Sunday, June 13

  • 5–6:30 p.m., New GI students’ seminar on the Meno

Monday, June 14

  • 12–2 p.m., REGISTRATION: All Graduate Institute Summer term students, Levan Hall

  • Graduate Institute classes begin and meet, as scheduled

  • 8:20 a.m., Graduate Institute Summer Faculty Meeting

  • 9 a.m., Graduate Institute Convocation, Darkey Common Room, Levan Hall

Tuesday, June 15

  • 3 p.m., New GI Student Orientation

Thursday, June 24–Saturday, June 26

  • Board Meeting, Annapolis

Back to top ↑

July 2021

Monday, July 5

  • DEADLINE: Returning Students LA and EC—deposits due for Fall 2021 term

  • GILA conferences begin

  • Submission date of missing work from SP 2020 that led to incomplete grade unless earlier date was stipulated by tutor

Sunday, July 4–Friday July 9

  • Summer Classics—Week 1

Sunday, July 11–Saturday, July 17

  • Summer Academy I

  • Summer Classics—Week 2 (ends Friday, July 16)

Friday, July 23

  • GI Liberal Arts summer term concludes end of day

Sunday, July 18—Saturday, July 24

  • Summer Academy II

  • Summer Classics—Week 3 (ends Friday, July 23)

Sunday, July 25–Saturday, July 31

  • Summer Academy III

Monday, July 26

  • January Freshmen annual essays due by noon, or as otherwise announced by seminar tutors

  • GIEC and GILA seminar orals begin

Wednesday, July 28–Friday, July 30

  • January Freshmen seminar oral examinations begin

Friday, July 30

  • Satisfactory grades’ check for Graduate Institute degree candidates

Back to top ↑

August 2021

Monday, August 2–Thursday, August 5

  • Library Call-In Week

Monday, August 2

  • 1 p.m., Graduate Institute final faculty meeting: awarding of degrees

Monday, August 2–Friday, August 6

  • January Freshmen Don Rags scheduled during class intervals

Tuesday, August 3

  • 6 p.m., GI Graduate Reception, Location TBA

Thursday, August 5

  • DEADLINE: Completion of Financial Aid/Loan file for FALL 2021 term.
    Failure to meet these deadlines triggers withdrawal from financial aid funding and enrollment rosters for the upcoming term.

  • DEADLINE: Student Accounts for FALL 2021 must be paid in full or TMS budgets arranged and verified with Treasurer’s Office.
    Failure to meet these deadlines triggers withdrawal from financial aid funding and enrollment rosters for the upcoming term.

  • GI Eastern Classics summer term concludes after seminar

Thursday, August 5

  • January Freshmen second term ends after seminar; January Freshmen late summer vacation begins

  • Graduate Institute summer session ends after seminar

Friday, August 6

  • 10 a.m., Graduate Institute Commencement

  • 5 p.m., All library materials due

Saturday, August 7

  • Food service ends with breakfast

  • 12 p.m., Undergraduates residence halls close

Monday, August 9

  • All JF and GI (LA and EC) grades and GI Comment Sheets due today

Back to top ↑