About the Mitchell Art Museum

Located in an award-winning building on the St. John’s College campus, just steps from the Maryland Statehouse, the Elizabeth Myers Mitchell Art Museum (/m) presents changing exhibitions in a free and welcoming environment. Like the college, we foster curiosity by encouraging deep engagement and open-ended conversation, asking timely and persistent questions of the human experience through art and with extraordinary artists. We are the only nationally accredited visual arts museum in Anne Arundel County and one of only five in the State of Maryland.


Peter Nesbett, Director
peter.nesbett(at)sjc.edu | 410-626-2536

At the museum since September 2022, Peter is an award-winning art historian, experimental curator, editor, administrator, and occasional art activist. He began his career as a scholar of African American Art, later co-directed an experimental art gallery in Harlem, and produced projects across Europe and North America. He is responsible for exhibitions, long-range planning, fundraising, and public relations.

Jenny Cawood, Manager (of Artistic Inquiry)
jenny.cawood(at)sjc.edu | 410-626-2556

Brought onto the /m team in October of 2022, Jenny is a museum educator, art and film critic, international academic advisor, and art historian. After graduating from St. John’s College in 2017, she moved alone to Aix-en-Provence, France, ulimately earning two Master’s degrees in Art History and Painting over the course of four years there. She has conducted creative tours in museums across Europe, published her critical analysis for various publications, and exhibited work with other artists in France. As Manager of the Mitchell Art Museum, she is responsible for student enrichment & engagement, educational programs, event management, and daily operations, among other things.

Aryasatya Anindita (A26), Museum Host
Allyson Brink (A24), Museum Host
Faith Chang (A25), Social Media Coordinator & Museum Host
Emma Cunningham-Bradshaw (A25), Museum Host
Kaleth Cushman (A26), Museum Host
Annelise Ivanescu (A26), Museum Host
Sewi Jung (A26), Museum Host
Kelly Kane (A24), Museum Host
Maya Wolfe (A26), Student Opportunity Coordinator & Museum Host

Board of Advisors

  • Melvin Bender
  • Cathy Byerly
  • Joy Chambers
  • Rhonda Pindell Charles
  • James W. Cheevers
  • Alex Cortright
  • Kathy Clatanoff
  • Tara Clifford
  • Deborah B. Coons
  • Katherine Dunleavy
  • Janet Gellici
  • Jean Brinton Jaecks
  • Carolyn P. Kammeier
  • Robert Koenke
  • Marilyn Lyons
  • Laurie Nolan
  • Macarena Olsen
  • Laura T. Ricciardelli
  • Wilford W. Scott
  • Eric Smith
  • Melissa Yanowitz

Emeritus Members

  • Casey Pingle, Chair Emeritus
  • Chip Bohl
  • Ruth Anderson Coggeshall
  • Keren Dement
  • Sylvia Earl
  • Anna E. Greenberg
  • Lynn Schwartz

We are grateful to the following for their generous support

  • Anonymous
  • Anonymous
  • Peggy Sue Atterbury
  • Mark Baganz and Laurie Salladin
  • Melvin and Judy Bender
  • Steve and Laura Burns
  • Joy Chambers and Peter Bungay
  • James W. Cheevers
  • Katherine D. Clatanoff
  • Tara Balfe Clifford
  • Deborah Bowerman Coons
  • Nadja Maril and Peter Crilly
  • Patrick F. Crossman
  • Don and Keren Dement
  • Keith and Katherine Dunleavy
  • Alexandra M. Fotos
  • Janet Gellici
  • Leslie and Steve Gruskin
  • Jan and David Hoffberger
  • Harry and Jean Brinton Jaecks
  • Marilyn Lyons
  • Laurie Nolan and John McClure
  • Rex and Katharine Pingle
  • Laura Ricciardelli and David Watt
  • Wil and Siena Scott
  • Marietta Meigs Schreiber
  • Eric and JanElaine Smith
  • Joan Vinson
  • Melissa Yanowitz and John Robey

Mitchell Gallery Facebook
Mitchell Gallery Instagram