Skip to Main Content

About Mitchell Gallery

Tucked away on the back campus of St. John’s College, the Elizabeth Myers Mitchell Gallery is a hidden treasure in historic Annapolis, Maryland. The Gallery, which enjoys more than 10,000 visitors each year, hosts a diverse array of exhibitions and programs annually. Past shows have featured Shakespeare’s First Folio, celebrated artists such as Bruegel, Rembrandt, Matisse, Miro, Rodin, and Warhol, and centuries-old illuminated manuscripts, while others have highlighted the unique historical and artistic offerings of the Annapolis area. Each spring, the Mitchell Gallery presents an exhibition of work by community and regional artists, and it is home to yearlong programming, including receptions, lectures and discussions with curators and collectors, hands-on creative workshops, and more. All exhibitions and most programs are free and open to the public.


The Mitchell Gallery serves the community of St. John’s College and the broader Annapolis community as a resource for all ages to experience museum-quality art by viewing, discussing, and engaging in activities about the world of fine art. The Gallery’s modern design is attributable to architect Chip Bohl who was recognized with a citation of merit from the American Institute of Architects in 1989.

Join us in congratulating Mitchell Gallery Art Educator Lucinda Edinberg for two great articles, one in the Summer 2018 issue of Up.St.ART Annapolis, and the other on the Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town and South County’s blog.


  • Hydee Schaller, Director
  • Lucinda Edinberg, Art Educator
  • Alexandra Fotos, Membership Coordinator

Board of Advisors

  • Casey Pingle, Chair
  • Melvin Bender
  • Katie Blyth
  • Cathy Byerly
  • Joy Chambers
  • James W. Cheevers
  • Kathy Clatanoff
  • Tara Clifford
  • Deborah B. Coons
  • Thomas R. Dawson
  • Keren Davison Dement
  • Katherine Dunleavy
  • Anna E. Greenberg
  • Elizabeth W. Grimaldis
  • David Hoffberger
  • Jean Brinton Jaecks
  • Carolyn P. Kammeier
  • Robert Koenke
  • Marilyn Lyons
  • Nadja Maril
  • Pamela McKee
  • Laurie Nolan
  • Laura T. Ricciardelli
  • Laurie Salladin
  • Wilford W. Scott
  • Eric Smith
  • Rockford Toews
  • Melissa Yanowitz

Emeritus Members

  • Charles H. Bohl
  • Ruth Anderson Coggeshall
  • Sylvia Earl
  • Janet Gellici
  • Ebby Malmgren
  • Lynn Schwartz
  • Joan Vinson
  • Dennis G. Younger